Go to top of page

APS agency listing - agencies covered by the Public Service Act 1999

Last updated: July 2019

The list of Australian Public Service (APS) Agencies which appears below is divided into 4 categories:

  • Category A – Departments;
  • Category B – Statutory Agencies with all staff employed under the Public Service Act 1999 (the PS Act);
  • Category C – Statutory Agencies which have the capacity to employ staff under the PS Act as well as their own enabling legislation (dual staffing bodies);
  • Category D – Executive Agencies.

A fifth category (Category E) includes bodies which employ staff under the Public Service Act 1999 and operate with some degree of independence. However, these bodies are parts of APS agencies rather than separate APS agencies as defined in the PS Act.

Category A


  1. Attorney-General's Department
  2. Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment
  3. Department of Defence
  4. Department of Education, Skills and Employment
  5. Department of Finance
  6. Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  7. Department of Health
  8. Department of Home Affairs
  9. Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources
  10. Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications
  11. Department of Social Services
  12. Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
  13. Department of the Treasury
  14. Department of Veterans' Affairs

Return to top of page

Category B

Statutory Agencies which employ all staff under the Public Service Act 1999

  1. Aboriginal Hostels Limited
  2. Administrative Appeals Tribunal
  3. Asbestos Safety and Eradication Agency
  4. Australian Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission
  5. Australian Building and Construction Commission
  6. Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research
  7. Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity
  8. Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
  9. Australian Communications and Media Authority
  10. Australian Competition and Consumer Commission
  11. Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission
  12. Australian Fisheries Management Authority
  13. Australian Human Rights Commission
  14. Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies
  15. Australian Law Reform Commission
  16. Australian National Audit Office
  17. Australian National Maritime Museum
  18. Australian National Preventive Health Agency
  19. Australian Organ and Tissue Donation and Transplantation Authority (Organ and Tissue Authority)
  20. Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority
  21. Australian Public Service Commission
  22. Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency
  23. Australian Research Council
  24. Australian Skills Quality Authority
  25. Australian Taxation Office
  26. Australian Trade and Investment Commission
  27. Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre
  28. Australian Transport Safety Bureau
  29. Australian War Memorial
  30. Cancer Australia
  31. Clean Energy Regulator
  32. Climate Change Authority
  33. Defence Housing Australia
  34. Fair Work Commission
  35. Federal Court Statutory Agency
  36. Food Standards Australia New Zealand
  37. Future Fund Management Agency
  38. Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority
  39. Independent Hospital Pricing Authority
  40. Independent Parliamentary Expenses Authority
  41. Murray-Darling Basin Authority
  42. National Blood Authority
  43. National Capital Authority
  44. National Competition Council
  45. National Disability Insurance Agency
  46. National Disability Insurance Scheme Quality and Safeguards Commission
  47. National Film and Sound Archive of Australia
  48. National Health and Medical Research Council
  49. National Health Funding Body
  50. National Library of Australia
  51. National Museum of Australia
  52. National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority
  53. National Portrait Gallery of Australia
  54. Office of Parliamentary Counsel
  55. Office of the Australian Information Commissioner
  56. Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman
  57. Office of the Fair Work Ombudsman
  58. Office of the Inspector-General of Taxation
  59. Old Parliament House
  60. Productivity Commission
  61. Professional Services Review
  62. Safe Work Australia
  63. Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency
  64. Torres Strait Regional Authority
  65. Workplace Gender Equality Agency

Return to top of page

Category C

Statutory Agencies with dual staffing powers

  1. Australian Bureau of Statistics
  2. Australian Digital Health Agency
  3. Australian Electoral Commission
  4. Australian Institute of Criminology
  5. Australian Institute of Family Studies
  6. Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
  7. Comcare
  8. Infrastructure Australia
  9. National Transport Commission#
  10. Office of National Intelligence
  11. Office of the Auditing and Assurance Standards Board#
  12. Office of the Australian Accounting Standards Board#
  13. Office of the Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions
  14. Office of the Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security
  15. Screen Australia

# Do not currently employ any staff under the PS Act.

Return to top of page

Category D

Executive Agencies

  1. Australian Financial Security Authority
  2. Bureau of Meteorology
  3. Digital Transformation Agency
  4. Infrastructure and Project Financing Agency
  5. National Archives of Australia
  6. National Indigenous Australians Agency
  7. National Mental Health Commission
  8. National Drought and North Queensland Flood Response and Recovery Agency
  9. North Queensland Water Infrastructure Agency
  10. Services Australia

Return to top of page

Category E

Bodies with staff employed under the PS Act which operate with some degree of independence

(For example, some have their own enterprise agreement and/or are identified separately but are NOT separate APS agencies as defined in the PS Act.)

  1. Australian Office of Financial Management (part of the Department of the Treasury)
  2. Australian Renewable Energy Agency (part of the Department of Environment and Energy)
  3. Commonwealth Grants Commission (part of the Department of the Treasury)
  4. Director of National Parks (part of the Department of the Environment and Energy)
  5. Geoscience Australia (part of the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science)
  6. IP Australia (part of the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science)
  7. Royal Australian Mint (part of the Department of the Treasury)
  8. Seafarers Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Authority - Seacare Authority (part of Comcare)

Return to top of page

Last reviewed: 
19 August 2020